top of page
Search

WEEK 3 4th ESO

Updated: Oct 7, 2022

SESSION 1:


YOU WILL NEVER FIND A RAINBOW

IF YOU LOOK DOWN :)


Have you heard about Charles Chaplin?

There was a mixture of humor and tragedy in his life but he always brought out smiles. He was a breath of fresh air.

He was an actor, director, musician, screenwriter, producer, etc…. But above all, he was a man who overcame adversity from a very young age.

He grew up in a very poor family. He earned what he could on the stage, always in the world of entertainment but poverty and hunger were always there.

His family was broken, there was no room for safety and security to grow. There was little attachment among them. His father never worried too much about him and his siblings, and his mother, also being a stage performer, suffered from serious mental illness that forced her to be confined in sanatoriums for long periods of time, away from the rest of the family.

Behind the character, under his great big shoes, his cane, and his dusty vest, there was a man who learned how to invent himself in order to survive; someone who knew how to draw smiles from tragedy and connect with a public that was very familiar with the themes he explored.


1. Watch this excerpt from The Gold Rush (1925) You will see two characters, Little Fellow and Big Jim and they are about to sit at the table.


2. Describe the scene. Write the answers in your notebook.

  1. What do these two characters represent?

  2. Who do you sympathize with?

  3. What time of the year is it? Is there any celebration going on?

  4. Describe the process of cooking and serving the shoe.

  5. What in your opinion might be the social circumstances they are living?

3. How do you think humor helps you overcome difficult situations?


4. Go to page 82 Citizen Z B2 and do exercises 1-4.


SESSION 2:


EXPRESSIONS WITH "SO"


1. Look at the examples and guess the meaning of so:




a. Tweedle-dum and Tweedle-dee Resolved to have a battle, For Tweedle-dum said Tweedle-dee Had spoiled his nice new rattle. Just then flew by a monstrous crow, As big as a tar barrel, Which frightened both the heroes so, They quite forgot their quarrel.

- Mother Goose Rhyme




b. I'm reeling from the blow I wish I knew what it was that keeps me loving you so


c. "Yet the world stays.' "If that be so, Your cockerel found us in the wrong Although he thought it. worth a crow.


d. I sought it daily for six weeks or so. Maybe at last, being but a broken man, I must be satisfied with my heart, although Winter and summer till old age began


e. I am bound, and fast bound so, That from thee I cannot go;


2. Choose the best answer/s to the following question:


Do you think we will be on time?


a. I think so

b. I think yes

c. I think we will


3. Go to page 85 from your books Citizen Z B2 do exercises 1 and 2.


SO & SUCH


Grammar tip:


So + adjective

Example: You are so beautiful



So + adverb

Example: You look so beautifully today.

Such + noun phrase

Example: You are such a beautiful lady.


4. Click on the link for further practice.


SESSION 3:


Last week we focused on the concept of growth mindset and the impact it has in your learning process.


a. Do you remember the definition of growth mindset?


b. Remember the tale of the beans. What is the contrary of having a growth mindset? Explain.


c. Can one have both attitudes, growth and fixed, at a time?


d. Would you jump off a cliff? Can you fly? Will you make the effort to improve your ability to fly?


e. Observe the picture . What do you think it means?


f. What of the following expressions are fixed mindsets:


  1. Either I'm Good at Something, or I'm Not

  2. Mistakes help me learn and grow

  3. I strive for progress not perfection

  4. I Can't Learn Now; It's Too Late

  5. I grow my brain by leaning hard things

  6. There's No Point in Trying if I'm Going to Fail

  7. I ask for help when I need

  8. I Take Feedback as a Personal Attack

  9. I Feel Threatened/Intimidated by the Success of Others

  10. I can learn anything

g. Take the test: think of a difficult situation you have experienced and answer the questions: 15 growth mindset questions


SESSION 4:


SPEAKING PART CAMBRIDGE EXAMS



DOWNLOAD THE SAMPLE SPEAKING TEST AND TAKE PARTS 2 AND 3.


OBSERVE THE PICTURES AND ANSWER THE TWO QUESTIONS IN PART 2.


IN PART 3 DISCUSS WHICH OF THE IDEAS IN THE MINDMAP WOULD ATTRACT MORE PEOPLE.

cambridge-english-first-2015-sample-pape
.
Download • 856KB

SESSION 5:



Hi there! To close this week's work we will read chapters 11-15 and then answer the questions referred to the first 15 chapters of We Were Liars in your notebook, ok? Then send them to me.



PLOT BASED QUESTIONS:

a. How does Cadence feel about Gandma Tipper’s death? b. What does Cadence start to remember about summer 15? c. What does her father recommend to heal from the accident? d. What is Cadence’s impression about the island when she returns?


Have a nice weekend!!! ;)

1,331 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page